​​​​Section 508 Compliance

Section 508 and website accessibility


If you’re a federal agency, it’s a legal requirement to comply with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Section 508 requires federal agencies to create, buy and use Information and Communication Technology (ICT) that’s accessible to people with disabilities. This includes all pages of your website, software, applications, intranet sites and tools, and electronic documents.


Failure to make your digital assets -or ICT- accessible is failure to comply with Section 508. And non-compliance not only presents a legal risk, but, as a vendor selling to the federal government, it can also impact your profitability.


Talk to an Expert

Risks of non-compliance

Federal agencies can be sued for non-compliance with Section 508, and several have, including The Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Department of Education, and the Social Security Administration.

In the private sector, neglect to comply with Section 508, and you’re putting your contracts at risk. Vendors doing business with the federal government must demonstrate proof that their digital products are accessible. That proof comes in the form of a Voluntary Product Accessibility Template, or VPAT. A VPAT is a document that details how ICT products and services, such as software, meet 508 standards for accessibility.

eSSENTIAL Accessibility experts are experienced in assessing accessibility and completing VPATs.

Engage With Our Team Today.

How do you make your website and other ICT compliant with Section 508?

In 2018, a refresh of Section 508 adopted the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) as the required web accessibility standard. More specifically, ICT must conform with WCAG 2.0 AA.

What is WCAG:

WCAG is a set of technical guidelines that, when followed, make digital content accessible for individuals with disabilities. At a high level, WCAG standards suggest a site should be perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust for every user of every ability.

Updates to WCAG are reflected in the version number. For example, the first release was WCAG 1.0. Subsequent releases include 2.0, 2.1, and we anticipate 2.2 updates in the coming months.

There are three levels of WCAG conformance: A, AA, and AAA:

  • Level A = minimum WCAG conformance has been met, with web page and content satisfying all Level A success criteria (or a conforming alternate version is provided)
  • Level AA = the web page satisfies all WCAG Level A and Level AA Success Criteria (or a Level AA conforming alternate version is provided)
  • Level AAA = the web page satisfies all the Level A, Level AA and Level AAA Success Criteria (or a Level AAA conforming alternate version is provided)

Because global regulations, including Section 508, reference WCAG, it has become the international standard for web accessibility. Compliance with Section 508 requires conformance with WCAG 2.0 Level AA.

Why Accessibility?

Digital accessibility isn’t just about WCAG or ADA compliance. It’s about reaching and serving 100% of the world’s population.